As the middle-class struggles, the IRS doles out $92 million in employee bonuses

irs tea party

Sarah Hall Ingram, the IRS bureaucrat who oversaw the division that targeted tea party and conservative organizations received bonuses of over $100,000 between 2009 and 2012. How did you do those years?

Did you even know civil servants (government employees) could get bonuses? I didn’t and I was a government employee for over 33 years. Do you know how many bonuses I received over that time period – zero. But, I was a county employee. Maybe, federal employees (except our military) under Obama get huge bonuses. But, one must wonder, what did she do to merit such bonuses? I think most of us already know or are starting to figure it out.

Do you know how I got promoted? I had to qualify to take a test as per civil service requirements and be approved by my supervisor. Then, I had to pass the test and be “reachable”. Reachable means if there are 3 openings, I better be in the top 3. Then, another interview or two.

But, I digress. Back to Ingram. In 2012, the IRS resumed giving its approval of conservative organizations, (only after Congressional offices started raising questions about the delays) and that same year, Ingram got promoted to head up IRS implementation of ObamaCare. Obama giving this woman more power scares the bejesus out of me! In just a few months, her office will assume broad new powers over more aspects of American lives.

There is a time-old adage in politics to follow the money. Following this trail stinks to high heaven. Ingram received very large bonuses at the exact time her employees were targeting conservative organizations. When, under Congressional pressure, the agency ended that practice, she got promoted to a position with vastly more power. Congress should subpoena her performance evaluations.

President Obama “fired” acting IRS Commissioner Steven Miller, who reportedly had previously planned to resign the position and was leaving the agency this summer. It was announced that Joseph Grant, who headed the agency’s tax exemption division, is also resigning. Grant received three bonuses totaling $83,950 between 2010 and 2012. The bonuses were in addition to Grant’s annual salary of $177,000.

I should have worked for the feds (IRS) instead of the county. But, I have integrity. I wouldn’t have qualified.

Leave a Reply

