What era had the greatest music?

Here’s a fun question – what era had the greatest songs of all time? I always thought that some of the greatest music was made when I was in high school. I wonder if everyone feels that way. I can still remember going to Mother’s Music in Patchogue  (when I earned enough from my job at McDonald’s) for the new Led Zeppelin album which was $3.98 plus tax. I think of all the new albums in the early 1970’s by bands like Pink Floyd, The Who, Deep Purple, Alice Cooper or David Bowie and a band you probable never heard of – Uriah Heep and wonder who could compete with them. 

Disregard the go-go dancing. These guys could harmonize with the best of them. One of my favorite songs from one of my favorite albums ever. The Wizard from Demons and Wizards. 

My wife being ever so slightly older said the music of the late 1960’s ruled. Musically, she had seen the Beatles at Shea and had been to Woodstock. She had me beat when it came to live music. But, I did see Van Halen (when very few knew who they were) open for Black Sabbath and I did see a concert in Shea Stadium (Jethro Tull). I saw many bands in their heyday. I have cred.

We have satellite radio because we both agree the music today is bloody awful. We have the 60’s channel and the 70’s channel programmed in and compare notes. “Hear that – Imagine by John Lennon. One of the greatest songs ever!” I would say as the 70’s station played ‘my’ music. Once the song was over, it was her turn. “Hear that – Strawberry Fields Forever.  John was in this band – The Beatles. One of the greatest bands ever!” Ugh! Monica 1 – Harry 0. It was my turn again. Back to the 70’s station for Stairway to Heaven. “Hear that – one of the greatest songs ever by one of the greatest bands ever – Led Zeppelin.” She agrees and I think I am going to tie up the score. The song ends so it’s back to the 60’s station. “What do you know? Whole Lotta Love by Led Zeppelin. We had them, too.” Ugh! Monica 2 – Harry 0. My turn again. “Layla by Derek & the Dominos. Eric Clapton and Duane Allman on guitar. I have a shot at this. Back to the 60’s station for All Along the Watchtower by Jimi Hendrix. Can I get a tie on that one?  I am not giving up. I know the greatness of my era of music. What next? Aerosmith? Queen? Eagles? Nope. Boogie Oogie Oogie by Taste of Honey. Damn it! Disco sucks big time. I quit. Nothing in the 60’s was this bad.

I checked with Rolling Stone’s greatest 500 songs of all time and 40.8% were from the Sixties. Second best era was the 70’s with 28.2%. So, I am number 2. I’ll take it. The crappy music coming out today (the 2000’s) had only 3 songs in the top 500 for a whooping 0.6%. So, do the kids from today think their music rules? Can they? I don’t see how. I don’t get the popularity of Miley Cyrus, Justin Bieber,  One Direction and what passes for music these days.  I am sounding like my old man but there’s nothing out there that impresses me like the music of the 70’s. Except for music of the 60’s.

Leave a Reply

